# Hugh Green Foundation

**Charities Register number:** CC28792
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042947301
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The Hugh Green Foundation supports groups working within the areas of: - Medical Research and Innovation - Education Equity - Health Equity - Community Development

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (78.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 84/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$12.59M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.69M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$8.91M
- **Total assets:** NZ$176.74M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$9.06M
- **Net assets:** NZ$167.68M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$7.50M
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=692aece5-912d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$12.59M | NZ$3.69M | NZ$8.91M | NZ$167.68M |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$11.62M | NZ$3.91M | NZ$7.71M | NZ$158.77M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$16.49M | NZ$22.01M | NZ$-5.51M | NZ$151.06M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$18.13M | NZ$13.52M | not disclosed | NZ$156.57M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$10.65M | NZ$2.94M | not disclosed | NZ$151.96M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$9.13M | NZ$3.55M | not disclosed | NZ$142.05M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$82.04M | NZ$22.48M | not disclosed | NZ$131.02M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$2.91M | NZ$12.50M | not disclosed | NZ$125.53M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$6.07M | NZ$8.79M | not disclosed | NZ$131.95M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$8.55M | NZ$5.44M | not disclosed | NZ$129.88M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (12 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 4
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$200k–300k
- **Auditor:** PricewaterhouseCoopers
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC28792) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- PricewaterhouseCoopers — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-27

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hugh-green-foundation
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hugh-green-foundation/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hugh-green-foundation/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC28792

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hugh-green-foundation. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-27T17:03:54.132Z.