# Hornby Toy Library Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC36374
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-01-04
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429042641018
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Our mission is to provide the families of our community with the opportunity to hire toys. We cater for families with children 8 years and under and offer a huge selection of popular brand toys to choose which includes (but not limited to) ride on bikes, puzzles, doll houses, roller coasters and much more. Through the art of play - toys help children in their development of co-ordination, brain and sensory, muscle strength, fine and large motor skills, problem solving and social skills.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-08-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$23k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$19k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$4k
- **Total assets:** NZ$90k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$249
- **Net assets:** NZ$90k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$47k
- **Donations:** NZ$953
- **Staff costs:** NZ$10k
- **Paid staff:** 1
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=b278ceb4-0187-f011-bb46-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-08-31 | NZ$23k | NZ$19k | NZ$4k | NZ$90k |
| 2024-08-31 | NZ$18k | NZ$18k | NZ$-391 | NZ$86k |
| 2023-08-31 | NZ$17k | NZ$17k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2022-08-31 | NZ$20k | NZ$18k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-08-31 | NZ$39k | NZ$28k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-08-31 | NZ$23k | NZ$19k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-08-31 | NZ$21k | NZ$21k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-08-31 | NZ$23k | NZ$10k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-08-31 | NZ$23k | NZ$21k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2016-08-31 | NZ$29k | NZ$14k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (36 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC36374) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$3k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$3k, year ended 2022-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$500, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hornby-toy-library-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hornby-toy-library-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hornby-toy-library-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC36374

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hornby-toy-library-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T02:57:35.344Z.