# Home Foundation

**Charities Register number:** CC58355
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2020-07-29
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429048475006
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Home Foundation exists to help end homelessness in Aotearoa New Zealand.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (75.2 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 79.5/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2024-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.88M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.74M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$2.14M
- **Total assets:** NZ$13.08M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$4.98M
- **Net assets:** NZ$8.10M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$879k
- **Donations:** NZ$2.82M
- **Paid staff:** 2
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=40315b2e-eeef-ee11-bb2f-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$3.88M | NZ$1.74M | NZ$2.14M | NZ$8.10M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$3.48M | NZ$1.14M | not disclosed | NZ$5.96M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$3.06M | NZ$664k | not disclosed | NZ$3.62M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$1.25M | NZ$24k | not disclosed | NZ$1.22M |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **Home Foundation Group**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2025-03-31 the group reported revenue of NZ$14.71M and expenses of NZ$3.28M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (9 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 2
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$150k–200k, under NZ$100k
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC58355) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/home-foundation
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/home-foundation/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/home-foundation/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC58355
- Charity website: https://www.homefoundation.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/home-foundation. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T16:06:17.186Z.