# Henderson Budget Service Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC39444
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-04-22
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042639145
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To enable and support all whanau in our community to become financially capable. To provide free, confidential, and non-judgmental financial mentoring/budgeting advice and support to help individuals and whanau in the West Auckland community and surrounding areas take control of their finances and to successfully manage their own money. This service is provided via face-to-face appointments, Zoom or Teams and telephone appointments, one on one mentoring, and group workshops. To deliver education workshops in the community, workplaces, and to youth not in school, to help tanagata to manage their finances more effectively, including providing them with the tools and confidence needed when making financial decisions and dealing with money matters. To provide a holistic approach to working with clients that allows us to link clients to additional support services to assist with a number of needs.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$777k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$483k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$294k
- **Total assets:** NZ$728k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$123k
- **Net assets:** NZ$605k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$717k
- **Donations:** NZ$5k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$417k
- **Paid staff:** 10
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=ac751a93-4b56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$777k | NZ$483k | NZ$294k | NZ$605k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$379k | NZ$374k | NZ$4k | NZ$311k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$391k | NZ$315k | not disclosed | NZ$307k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$267k | NZ$187k | not disclosed | NZ$230k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$190k | NZ$129k | not disclosed | NZ$150k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$124k | NZ$94k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$121k | NZ$142k | not disclosed | NZ$42k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$184k | NZ$180k | not disclosed | NZ$64k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$135k | NZ$117k | not disclosed | NZ$60k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$84k | NZ$82k | not disclosed | NZ$42k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (37 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC39444) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$337k, year ended 2024-03-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$39k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$37k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$28k, year ended 2022-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2026-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2025-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2020-03-31
- **Auckland Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2017-06-30
- **Auckland Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$8k, year ended 2018-06-30
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$1k, year ended 2022-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/henderson-budget-service-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/henderson-budget-service-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/henderson-budget-service-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC39444
- Charity website: https://www.budgeting.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/henderson-budget-service-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T00:10:26.788Z.