# Hei Āhuru Mōwai, Māori Cancer Leadership Aotearoa

**Charities Register number:** CC59081
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2021-04-29
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Hamilton
**NZBN:** 9429043077007
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Hei Āhuru Mōwai Māori Cancer Leadership Aotearoa has the overall charitable purpose of providing leadership, Māori self-determination and mana motuhake in the design, delivery and monitoring of cancer control programmes and services in Aotearoa / New Zealand to eliminate Māori cancer inequities

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.25M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.26M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-2k
- **Total assets:** NZ$855k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$737k
- **Net assets:** NZ$118k
- **Government grants:** NZ$951k (75.8% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$776
- **Staff costs:** NZ$665k
- **Paid staff:** 8
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=7002caf9-4956-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$1.25M | NZ$1.26M | NZ$-2k | NZ$118k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$633k | NZ$611k | NZ$22k | not disclosed |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$350k | NZ$348k | not disclosed | NZ$100k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$255k | NZ$163k | not disclosed | NZ$98k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$130k | NZ$124k | not disclosed | NZ$6k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (10 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC59081) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-11
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-12

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hei-ahuru-mowai-maori-cancer-leadership-aotearoa
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hei-ahuru-mowai-maori-cancer-leadership-aotearoa/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hei-ahuru-mowai-maori-cancer-leadership-aotearoa/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC59081

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hei-ahuru-mowai-maori-cancer-leadership-aotearoa. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-12T11:10:05.359Z.