# Hearth Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC51639
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2015-04-02
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Lower Hutt
**NZBN:** 9429043270798
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Hearth Trust provides homes for people with intellectual disabilities, providing support, and enabling them to lead engaged, healthy and fulfilling lives.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$468k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$414k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$54k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.46M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$29k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.43M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$112k
- **Government grants:** NZ$24k (5.1% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$2k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$315k
- **Paid staff:** 12
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=09ac8bc4-d7e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$468k | NZ$414k | NZ$54k | NZ$1.43M |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$488k | NZ$360k | NZ$128k | NZ$355k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$441k | NZ$343k | NZ$98k | NZ$1.25M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$382k | NZ$325k | not disclosed | NZ$1.16M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$277k | NZ$228k | not disclosed | NZ$1.10M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$263k | NZ$202k | not disclosed | NZ$1.05M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$220k | NZ$180k | not disclosed | NZ$988k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$240k | NZ$165k | not disclosed | NZ$949k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$171k | NZ$136k | not disclosed | NZ$874k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$104k | NZ$74k | not disclosed | NZ$839k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (9 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC51639) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$6k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$3k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hearth-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hearth-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hearth-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC51639

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hearth-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T00:38:32.684Z.