# He Puna Marama Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC27440
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Whangarei
**NZBN:** 9429042936879
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide early childhood education and to develop young Maori leaders. This has recently been expanded upon to encompass housing initiatives and to establish a whenua Maori Organic Co-operative

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The most recent annual return on the register is too old to score.
- **Status code:** `stale_data`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2022-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$6.08M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$5.87M
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$12.42M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$2.51M
- **Net assets:** NZ$9.91M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$3.90M
- **Donations:** NZ$1.88M
- **Paid staff:** 60
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=49184116-9b89-ed11-bb1b-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$6.08M | NZ$5.87M | not disclosed | NZ$9.91M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$4.96M | NZ$5.15M | not disclosed | NZ$9.71M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$4.26M | NZ$4.36M | not disclosed | NZ$9.89M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$4.16M | NZ$4.78M | not disclosed | NZ$10.02M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$9.21M | NZ$7.48M | not disclosed | NZ$10.66M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$7.37M | NZ$6.91M | not disclosed | NZ$8.93M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$6.57M | NZ$6.30M | not disclosed | NZ$8.47M |
| 2015-12-31 | NZ$6.40M | NZ$4.89M | not disclosed | NZ$8.21M |
| 2014-12-31 | NZ$5.90M | NZ$4.31M | not disclosed | NZ$6.70M |
| 2013-12-31 | NZ$5.50M | NZ$2.71M | not disclosed | NZ$5.71M |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **HPMT Group**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2025-12-31 the group reported revenue of NZ$9.80M and expenses of NZ$6.49M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (10 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** BDO Northland
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27440) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$418k, year ended 2020-03-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-10-01
- This document generated: 2026-10-01

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/he-puna-marama-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/he-puna-marama-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/he-puna-marama-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27440

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/he-puna-marama-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-01T19:01:25.279Z.