# Hawkes Bay Literacy Association 

**Charities Register number:** CC48123
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2012-08-21
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Napier
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

*To encourage literacy learning, * To encourage research in literacy education, * To publish results of significant literacy investigations and practices,*To foster continuing literacy education programmes for teachers, *To encourage and support the work of reading/literacy councils in New Zealand, *To provide and promote meetings and conferences on literacy, *To foster national and international cooperation the the field of literacy, * To advise and make representations on matters related to literacy, *To promote literacy in the wider community

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Small community organisation — the scorecard is not designed for entities at this scale.
- **Status code:** `community_group`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$8k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$13k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-5k
- **Total assets:** NZ$56k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$0
- **Net assets:** NZ$56k
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$8k | NZ$13k | NZ$-5k | NZ$56k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$19k | NZ$10k | NZ$9k | not disclosed |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$15k | NZ$18k | NZ$-3k | not disclosed |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$17k | NZ$16k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$17k | NZ$18k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$11k | NZ$9k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$22k | NZ$17k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$19k | NZ$13k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$18k | NZ$18k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$22k | NZ$15k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 1 current (10 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC48123) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-12

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hawkes-bay-literacy-association
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hawkes-bay-literacy-association/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hawkes-bay-literacy-association/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC48123

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hawkes-bay-literacy-association. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-12T07:16:05.529Z.