# Hand Deficiency Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC31414
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Lower Hutt
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To develop an awareness among the public of New Zealand of the causes and consequences of the affliction known as Split Hand or Cleft Hand . To raise funds for the purpose of medical research into the affliction and possible cure for it. To encourage the study of the affliction and research into it. To provide for Prosthetic and other comforts to aid those afflicted by the condition. To Raise funds for such surgical or other treatments for the sufferers from the affliction. Where a new Zealand citizen or resident requires medical treatment and such treatment is not available in new Zealand then in such eventuality funds may be applied towards the costs of such overseas medical expenses.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The filed financial data is incomplete or internally inconsistent, so a score would not be meaningful.
- **Status code:** `insufficient_data`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$0
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$3k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier4

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$3k | NZ$0 | NZ$3k | not disclosed |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$5k | not disclosed | NZ$5k | not disclosed |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$3k | not disclosed | NZ$3k | not disclosed |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$2k | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$587 | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$2k | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$2k | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$2k | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$2k | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$3k | not disclosed | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC31414) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hand-deficiency-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hand-deficiency-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hand-deficiency-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC31414

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hand-deficiency-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T18:55:13.138Z.