# Hamilton Multicultural Services Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC32525
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** International Aid
**ICNPO group:** International
**Region:** Hamilton
**NZBN:** 9429042955559
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Purpose: Empowering communities to belong and thrive. Mission: Paving the way for successful settlement. Goals: To connect, support and advocate for the refugee and migrant communities. To maintain and establish stakeholder relationships. To foster participation of newcomers in the community. To enable refugees and migrants to be engaged members of the community. To strengthen the organization, grow existing projects while developing new ones.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A (90.1 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 96.5/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.75M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.77M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-24k
- **Total assets:** NZ$5.34M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$867k
- **Net assets:** NZ$4.47M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$889k
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$14k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$2.83M
- **Paid staff:** 177
- **Volunteers:** 2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=45a109e5-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$3.75M | NZ$3.77M | NZ$-24k | NZ$4.47M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$6.94M | NZ$3.95M | NZ$2.99M | NZ$4.49M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$4.38M | NZ$4.13M | not disclosed | NZ$1.50M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$3.64M | NZ$3.62M | not disclosed | NZ$1.25M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$3.36M | NZ$3.25M | not disclosed | NZ$1.22M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.47M | NZ$2.46M | not disclosed | NZ$36k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$1.69M | NZ$1.69M | not disclosed | NZ$28k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$1.57M | NZ$1.56M | not disclosed | NZ$22k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$1.29M | NZ$1.29M | not disclosed | NZ$18k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$546k | NZ$544k | not disclosed | NZ$15k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (49 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Hall Chadwick NZ Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC32525) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$22k, year ended 2023-03-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hamilton-multicultural-services-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hamilton-multicultural-services-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hamilton-multicultural-services-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC32525

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hamilton-multicultural-services-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T07:30:44.833Z.