# Hamilton Gardens Summer Festival Foundation

**Charities Register number:** CC20427
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-01-09
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Hamilton
**NZBN:** 9429042930815
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To deliver an annual arts festival that engages the community and presents a series of artistic works from the Waikato, around New Zealand and other parts of the world

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C (64.0 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 73.6/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$1.44M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$1.39M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$57k
- **Total assets:** NZ$341k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$180k
- **Net assets:** NZ$161k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$199k
- **Donations:** NZ$847k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$257k
- **Paid staff:** 4
- **Volunteers:** 1
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=043a0c39-c60e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$1.44M | NZ$1.39M | NZ$57k | NZ$161k |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$1.43M | NZ$1.35M | NZ$77k | NZ$103k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$1.21M | NZ$1.31M | NZ$-98k | NZ$26k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$691k | NZ$648k | NZ$44k | NZ$124k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$1.13M | NZ$1.00M | not disclosed | NZ$80k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$1.08M | NZ$1.10M | not disclosed | NZ$-52k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$1.04M | NZ$1.12M | not disclosed | NZ$-31k |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$975k | NZ$1.07M | not disclosed | NZ$49k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$1.15M | NZ$1.05M | not disclosed | NZ$143k |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$1.04M | NZ$1.06M | not disclosed | NZ$47k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (28 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Matley Audit Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20427) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Grassroots Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$290k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$52k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$27k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hamilton-gardens-summer-festival-foundation
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hamilton-gardens-summer-festival-foundation/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/hamilton-gardens-summer-festival-foundation/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20427
- Charity website: https://www.hamiltonartsfestival.co.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/hamilton-gardens-summer-festival-foundation. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T18:41:12.800Z.