# Gut Cancer Foundation Limited

**Charities Register number:** CC39174
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-04-08
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429032456608
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Vision: We are committed to positive change and creating an everlasting impact for all New Zealanders affected by gut cancers. Mission: We fund innovative research, are the voice of cancers of the digestive system, and provide vital information and education to improve and save the lives of New Zealanders. Purpose: With help from our communities and international networks we fund research into gut cancers so New Zealanders can access innovative life-saving treatments. We raise awareness and provide comprehensive information to enable equitable outcomes for all New Zealanders.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$946k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$931k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$15k
- **Total assets:** NZ$499k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$154k
- **Net assets:** NZ$345k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$306k
- **Donations:** NZ$731k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$421k
- **Paid staff:** 7
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=8d184dc3-922d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$946k | NZ$931k | NZ$15k | NZ$345k |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$718k | NZ$1.04M | NZ$-322k | NZ$331k |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$815k | NZ$974k | NZ$-159k | NZ$455k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$961k | NZ$774k | not disclosed | NZ$812k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$643k | NZ$505k | not disclosed | NZ$626k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$555k | NZ$405k | not disclosed | NZ$488k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$304k | NZ$346k | not disclosed | NZ$337k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$434k | NZ$353k | not disclosed | NZ$379k |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$214k | NZ$254k | not disclosed | NZ$298k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$321k | NZ$252k | not disclosed | NZ$338k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (25 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Forbes Audit and Accounting
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC39174) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **The North and South Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$61k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trillian Trust** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pelorus Trust** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2024-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$8k, year ended 2024-12-31
- **Pelorus Trust** (foundation) — NZ$7k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Dragon Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$7k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Milestone Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$7k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Rano Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$6k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/gut-cancer-foundation-limited
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/gut-cancer-foundation-limited/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/gut-cancer-foundation-limited/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC39174

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/gut-cancer-foundation-limited. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T23:36:02.148Z.