# Foundation North Grants Limited

**Charities Register number:** CC38999
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Community Development
**ICNPO group:** Philanthropic Intermediaries and Voluntarism Promotion
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429036949823
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Charitable company providing grants to communities in Auckland and Northland, on the advice of its parent, Foundation North.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (76.8 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 77.5/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$72.47M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$72.47M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$0
- **Total assets:** NZ$60.92M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$60.92M
- **Net assets:** NZ$0
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$0
- **Government grants:** NZ$0 (0.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier1
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=7bcbd9f7-912d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$72.47M | NZ$72.47M | NZ$0 | NZ$0 |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$68.87M | NZ$68.87M | NZ$0 | not disclosed |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$52.13M | NZ$52.13M | NZ$0 | not disclosed |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$71.01M | NZ$71.01M | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$52.69M | NZ$52.69M | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$50.90M | NZ$50.90M | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$48.08M | NZ$48.08M | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$39.14M | NZ$39.14M | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$50.07M | NZ$50.07M | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$36.38M | NZ$36.38M | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (32 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 8
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$200k–300k, NZ$500k+
- **Auditor:** KPMG
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38999) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- KPMG — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/foundation-north-grants-limited
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/foundation-north-grants-limited/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/foundation-north-grants-limited/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC38999

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/foundation-north-grants-limited. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T03:48:52.751Z.