# Forest & Bird Endowment Fund

**Charities Register number:** CC37277
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-01-28
**Sector:** Environment
**ICNPO group:** Environment
**Region:** Wellington
**NZBN:** 9429043249824
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To preserve and protect the indigenous flora and fauna, and other natural features of New Zealand for the benefit of the public including future generations.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (79.0 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 85/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$514k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$35k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$479k
- **Total assets:** NZ$6.40M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$6k
- **Net assets:** NZ$6.39M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$41k
- **Donations:** NZ$0
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=3366086c-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$514k | NZ$35k | NZ$479k | NZ$6.39M |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$845k | NZ$32k | NZ$813k | NZ$2.84M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$619k | NZ$23k | NZ$595k | NZ$5.10M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$1k | NZ$6k | not disclosed | NZ$4.50M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$513k | NZ$9k | not disclosed | NZ$5.22M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$736k | NZ$161k | not disclosed | NZ$4.72M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$120k | NZ$239k | not disclosed | NZ$4.14M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$126k | NZ$55k | not disclosed | NZ$3.58M |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$503k | NZ$139k | not disclosed | NZ$3.51M |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$197k | NZ$583k | not disclosed | NZ$3.15M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 15 current (34 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37277) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Auckland Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$13k, year ended 2018-06-30

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/forest-bird-endowment-fund
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/forest-bird-endowment-fund/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/forest-bird-endowment-fund/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37277

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/forest-bird-endowment-fund. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T09:25:17.359Z.