# Eye Health Aotearoa

**Charities Register number:** CC41236
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2009-07-05
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429043183951
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The objects of the Trust are to: 1) Eliminate avoidable vision impairment and blindness in New Zealand (NZ) 2) Develop a Population Eye Health capability in NZ 3) Enable collaboration between all parties with interests in the elimination of avoidable blindness in NZ 4) Promote the delivery of eye health services I order to achieve the first object 5) Facilitate the development of Eye Health Policy in NZ 6) Do all things that are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the objects detailed above.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$120k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$134k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-18k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$34k
- **Government grants:** NZ$34k (28.4% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$148
- **Staff costs:** NZ$92k
- **Paid staff:** 1
- **Reporting tier:** Tier4
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=78fc52bd-922d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$120k | NZ$134k | NZ$-18k | not disclosed |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$133k | NZ$116k | NZ$16k | not disclosed |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$81k | NZ$51k | NZ$30k | NZ$19k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$20k | NZ$26k | not disclosed | NZ$5k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$12 | NZ$2k | not disclosed | NZ$11k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$5k | NZ$5k | not disclosed | NZ$12k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$19 | NZ$3k | not disclosed | NZ$12k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$48 | NZ$59 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$59 | NZ$60 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$118 | NZ$13 | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (29 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC41236) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$12k, year ended 2026-03-31
- **One Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$2k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-27
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-27
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/eye-health-aotearoa
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/eye-health-aotearoa/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/eye-health-aotearoa/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC41236

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/eye-health-aotearoa. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T22:13:22.749Z.