# Empowerment Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC20081
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-11-19
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Whangaparaoa
**NZBN:** 9429042905776
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Our vision is a New Zealand-Aotearoa where all people are empowered to live, play, learn and work in safe communities free from harm and violence through empowering communities to foster healthy relationships through skills-based learning.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$269k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$256k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$13k
- **Total assets:** NZ$188k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$113k
- **Net assets:** NZ$75k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$70k
- **Donations:** NZ$22k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$59k
- **Paid staff:** 3
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=6020fad8-c50e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$269k | NZ$256k | NZ$13k | NZ$75k |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$329k | NZ$616k | NZ$-287k | NZ$62k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$1.04M | NZ$974k | not disclosed | NZ$349k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$901k | NZ$867k | not disclosed | NZ$284k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$972k | NZ$919k | not disclosed | NZ$251k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$965k | NZ$861k | not disclosed | NZ$198k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$674k | NZ$660k | not disclosed | NZ$94k |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$413k | NZ$384k | not disclosed | NZ$82k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$317k | NZ$272k | not disclosed | NZ$53k |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$188k | NZ$181k | not disclosed | NZ$8k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (30 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Smart Assurance Services Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20081) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$29k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Youthtown Incorporated** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2021-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2019-03-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Redwood Trust Incorporated** (foundation) — NZ$2k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/empowerment-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/empowerment-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/empowerment-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20081

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/empowerment-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T12:43:59.618Z.