# Eastern and Central Reading Encouragement Network (Ecread'n)

**Charities Register number:** CC39932
**Status:** Deregistered (2022-03-31)
**Registered since:** 2009-05-10
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Waipukurau

## Purpose

Is to be a library based reading programme for children irrespective of ethnicity with focus on family participation and to encourage literacy.The programme provides free resources to children and 28 participating libraries with a emphasis on low decile areas

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — No longer on the Charities Register.
- **Status code:** `deregistered`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2022-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$348
- **Total expenses:** NZ$58k
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=58895875-83b1-ec11-bb11-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$348 | NZ$58k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$193k | NZ$232k | not disclosed | NZ$52k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$233k | NZ$203k | not disclosed | NZ$93k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$249k | NZ$247k | not disclosed | NZ$56k |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$251k | NZ$232k | not disclosed | NZ$54k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$254k | NZ$264k | not disclosed | NZ$35k |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$253k | NZ$229k | not disclosed | NZ$46k |
| 2015-03-31 | NZ$251k | NZ$265k | NZ$-14k | NZ$18k |
| 2014-03-31 | NZ$235k | NZ$233k | NZ$2k | NZ$37k |
| 2013-03-31 | NZ$217k | NZ$223k | NZ$-6k | NZ$32k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 1 current (4 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC39932) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-12

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/eastern-and-central-reading-encouragement-network-ecreadn
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/eastern-and-central-reading-encouragement-network-ecreadn/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/eastern-and-central-reading-encouragement-network-ecreadn/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC39932

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/eastern-and-central-reading-encouragement-network-ecreadn. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-12T07:53:09.780Z.