# De Paul House Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC49019
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2013-03-27
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429045948978
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Since 1986, De Paul House has provided Transitional Housing and support services, for homeless families who are generally on a low income. In 2020, De Paul House became a Social Housing provider and extended its services to support homeless seniors (over 65 years old). We are a non-denominational service and accept people from any religion or background that meet our criteria.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A- (89.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$4.40M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.76M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$641k
- **Total assets:** NZ$5.43M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$2.26M
- **Net assets:** NZ$3.16M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$1.50M
- **Government grants:** NZ$3.41M (77.4% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$645k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.60M
- **Paid staff:** 19
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=036591b8-d7e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$4.40M | NZ$3.76M | NZ$641k | NZ$3.16M |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$3.95M | NZ$4.00M | NZ$-45k | NZ$2.52M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$3.79M | NZ$3.71M | NZ$82k | NZ$2.57M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$3.86M | NZ$3.57M | not disclosed | NZ$2.49M |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$3.15M | NZ$2.72M | not disclosed | NZ$2.20M |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$2.65M | NZ$2.15M | not disclosed | NZ$1.76M |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$2.09M | NZ$1.77M | not disclosed | NZ$1.26M |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$1.84M | NZ$1.38M | not disclosed | NZ$946k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$1.37M | NZ$1.05M | not disclosed | NZ$483k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$960k | NZ$823k | not disclosed | NZ$164k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 11 current (19 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Lynch & Associates Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC49019) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$123k, year ended 2020-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$49k, year ended 2025-03-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/de-paul-house-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/de-paul-house-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/de-paul-house-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC49019

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/de-paul-house-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T21:15:30.865Z.