# Dancing for a Cause Nelson Charitable Trust Board

**Charities Register number:** CC57319
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2019-09-07
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Nelson
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The purpose of the Trust will be to raise funds by organising and holding events and entertainment with a ballroom-style dance theme and then to distribute such funds to charities in the Nelson area to be identified by the Trustees.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (78.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 94/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$989k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$949k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$28k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$35k
- **Donations:** NZ$957k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 1
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=b19fcd05-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$989k | NZ$949k | NZ$28k | not disclosed |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$7k | NZ$870 | NZ$6k | NZ$16k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$552k | NZ$546k | not disclosed | NZ$17k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$100 | NZ$534 | not disclosed | NZ$4k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$232k | NZ$302k | not disclosed | NZ$4k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$80k | NZ$5k | not disclosed | NZ$36k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (16 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC57319) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Mainland Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$6k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/dancing-for-a-cause-nelson-charitable-trust-board
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/dancing-for-a-cause-nelson-charitable-trust-board/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/dancing-for-a-cause-nelson-charitable-trust-board/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC57319

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/dancing-for-a-cause-nelson-charitable-trust-board. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T05:43:00.721Z.