# Creative Northland

**Charities Register number:** CC37341
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Whangarei
**NZBN:** 9429042947943
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide education for and to promote, encourage, support, organise and develop all types of activity within the Creative Sector for the benefit of the people of the District and Northland. a) to foster and provide opportunities to the people, organisations and groups in the District and Northland for participation and enjoyment in the Creative Sector. b) to promote, develop, maintain, control or manage facilities for the Creative Sector C) to foster, promote, organise or conduct any meetings, conferences, demonstrations, lectures, competitions, exhibitions or other social functions or gatherings and research projects for the Creative Sector; and d) to encourage and facilitate public and private patronage and support in order to grow a resource base. The resource base may be used for the establishment and management of a distribution mechanism from which such patronage and support may be distributed for the attainment of the above projects.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$665k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$633k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$32k
- **Total assets:** NZ$554k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$363k
- **Net assets:** NZ$190k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$327k
- **Donations:** NZ$2k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$363k
- **Paid staff:** 10
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=c8d90921-4b56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$665k | NZ$633k | NZ$32k | NZ$190k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$614k | NZ$673k | NZ$-60k | NZ$158k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$590k | NZ$547k | not disclosed | NZ$218k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$598k | NZ$424k | not disclosed | NZ$175k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$748k | NZ$805k | not disclosed | NZ$1k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$771k | NZ$713k | not disclosed | NZ$58k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$481k | NZ$383k | not disclosed | NZ$840 |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$409k | NZ$600k | not disclosed | NZ$-97k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$431k | NZ$523k | not disclosed | NZ$93k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$356k | NZ$634k | not disclosed | NZ$185k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (49 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** BDO Northland
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37341) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$690k, year ended 2027-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$241k, year ended 2026-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$230k, year ended 2019-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$220k, year ended 2022-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$213k, year ended 2024-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$180k, year ended 2021-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$180k, year ended 2023-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$140k, year ended 2020-03-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$37k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/creative-northland
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/creative-northland/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/creative-northland/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC37341

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/creative-northland. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T13:05:27.065Z.