# Community Development Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC33948
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Hamilton
**NZBN:** 9429042996620
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

We have a range of charitable objectives focused around the safeguarding and promotion of Intangible Cultural Heritage and community well-being.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C+ (65.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 70/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$24k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$21k
- **Total assets:** NZ$66k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$5k
- **Net assets:** NZ$61k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$64k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=c3598485-c70e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$24k | NZ$3k | NZ$21k | NZ$61k |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$5k | NZ$780 | NZ$5k | NZ$38k |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$29k | NZ$11k | not disclosed | NZ$5k |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$18k | NZ$5k | not disclosed | NZ$10k |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$1 | NZ$29k | not disclosed | NZ$12k |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$108k | NZ$85k | not disclosed | NZ$41k |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$80k | NZ$70k | not disclosed | NZ$17k |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$36k | NZ$52k | not disclosed | NZ$7k |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$181k | NZ$173k | not disclosed | NZ$24k |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$75k | NZ$80k | not disclosed | NZ$35k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 2 current (3 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC33948) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/community-development-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/community-development-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/community-development-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC33948

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/community-development-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T22:43:22.753Z.