# Christ's College Canterbury

**Charities Register number:** CC21589
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-03-05
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429048014731
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Provision of education

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B+ (82.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-01-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$30.47M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$32.81M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-2.35M
- **Total assets:** NZ$155.46M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$13.60M
- **Net assets:** NZ$141.86M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$191k
- **Government grants:** NZ$1.11M (3.7% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$457k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$16.48M
- **Paid staff:** 151
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=ddc8e7e1-33ff-f011-bb4f-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-01-31 | NZ$30.47M | NZ$32.81M | NZ$-2.35M | NZ$141.86M |
| 2025-01-31 | NZ$29.87M | NZ$33.01M | NZ$-3.14M | NZ$136.71M |
| 2024-01-31 | NZ$30.48M | NZ$27.47M | NZ$3.01M | NZ$131.31M |
| 2023-01-31 | NZ$23.75M | NZ$28.16M | not disclosed | NZ$125.95M |
| 2022-01-31 | NZ$31.18M | NZ$24.89M | not disclosed | NZ$129.07M |
| 2021-01-31 | NZ$22.69M | NZ$23.90M | not disclosed | NZ$117.97M |
| 2020-01-31 | NZ$24.22M | NZ$24.62M | not disclosed | NZ$118.02M |
| 2019-01-31 | NZ$19.30M | NZ$25.15M | not disclosed | NZ$117.86M |
| 2018-01-31 | NZ$23.81M | NZ$24.55M | not disclosed | NZ$122.55M |
| 2017-01-31 | NZ$30.06M | NZ$25.38M | not disclosed | NZ$121.39M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (39 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 11
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$500k+, under NZ$100k
- **Auditor:** PwC
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC21589) and on the charity's profile page.

## Service providers

- Pricewaterhouse Coopers — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-10-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-10-01

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/christs-college-canterbury
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/christs-college-canterbury/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/christs-college-canterbury/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC21589

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/christs-college-canterbury. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-10-01T03:49:21.736Z.