# Christchurch School Of Music Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC20378
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-01-06
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429042612377
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To foster a lifelong love of music in and challenging and fun environment.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$797k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$875k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-78k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.26M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$71k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.19M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$61k
- **Government grants:** NZ$152k (19.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$57k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$609k
- **Paid staff:** 66
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=43de3930-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$797k | NZ$875k | NZ$-78k | NZ$1.19M |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$961k | NZ$847k | NZ$114k | NZ$1.27M |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$1.77M | NZ$757k | NZ$1.01M | NZ$1.15M |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$741k | NZ$765k | not disclosed | NZ$137k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$751k | NZ$787k | not disclosed | NZ$171k |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$702k | NZ$755k | not disclosed | NZ$219k |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$817k | NZ$832k | not disclosed | NZ$272k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$843k | NZ$864k | not disclosed | NZ$287k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$773k | NZ$813k | not disclosed | NZ$307k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$764k | NZ$767k | not disclosed | NZ$347k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (56 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Smith + Jack
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20378) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$35k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$18k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Mainland Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$14k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2022-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$4k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Mainland Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$3k, year ended 2022-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$2k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$2k, year ended 2022-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$939, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/christchurch-school-of-music-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/christchurch-school-of-music-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/christchurch-school-of-music-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20378

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/christchurch-school-of-music-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T03:31:33.430Z.