# Christchurch Early Intervention Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC22708
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-04-08
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429042611424
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

The centre was incorporated in 1989 and has made significant inroads into developing world-renowned programmes and services to assist children with various special needs including Down syndrome, premature birth, cerebral palsy, and traumatic brain injury. All children are referred to the service by a paediatrician and continue to have full access to medical services as needed The centre works with children from birth to school age who have delays in at least two areas of development. This work is done using a holistic model based on a working partnership with the parent or caregiver as first teacher. There are three core components to the work; they are Physiotherapy/Occupational Therapy, Speech and Language Therapy, and Early Intervention Teaching. Depending on age and need, the team may also include a Family Support Worker, music specialist, playroom specialist and a computer supported learning specialist. The Centre also has a specific programme for infants born prematurely.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B+ (82.3 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 85.4/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.66M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.55M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$115k
- **Total assets:** NZ$2.15M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$477k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.68M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$620k
- **Government grants:** NZ$1.78M (67.0% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$319k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$2.31M
- **Paid staff:** 59
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=38a7f5b8-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$2.66M | NZ$2.55M | NZ$115k | NZ$1.68M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$2.87M | NZ$2.52M | NZ$344k | NZ$1.56M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$2.84M | NZ$2.38M | not disclosed | NZ$1.22M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$2.56M | NZ$2.33M | not disclosed | NZ$764k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$2.74M | NZ$2.57M | not disclosed | NZ$535k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$2.48M | NZ$2.54M | not disclosed | NZ$363k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$2.55M | NZ$2.43M | not disclosed | NZ$422k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$2.10M | NZ$2.21M | not disclosed | NZ$303k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$1.94M | NZ$2.03M | not disclosed | NZ$417k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$2.23M | NZ$2.05M | not disclosed | NZ$506k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (26 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Nexia New Zealand
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC22708) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$181k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Mainland Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$142k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Mainland Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$57k, year ended 2023-12-31
- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2022-12-31
- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/christchurch-early-intervention-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/christchurch-early-intervention-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/christchurch-early-intervention-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC22708

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/christchurch-early-intervention-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T00:10:44.813Z.