# Centre for Contemplative Research Aotearoa Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC57365
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2019-08-30
**Sector:** Religion
**ICNPO group:** Religion
**Region:** Murchison
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To advance and teach the elements of Buddhism as they pertain to the nature and potentials of consciousness, contemplation and genuine well-being and to advance education and understanding of consciousness by combining the first-person point of view of a group of experienced meditation practitioners with third-person methods of scientific enquiry.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (73.8 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 77.5/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-12 (methodology 3.8)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$47k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$76k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-29k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$188k
- **Donations:** NZ$20k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=586a2c09-c20e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$47k | NZ$76k | NZ$-29k | not disclosed |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$228k | NZ$256k | NZ$-27k | not disclosed |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$346k | NZ$232k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$1.50M | NZ$37k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$555 | NZ$550 | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$2k | NZ$1k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (7 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC57365) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-13

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/centre-for-contemplative-research-aotearoa-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/centre-for-contemplative-research-aotearoa-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/centre-for-contemplative-research-aotearoa-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC57365
- Charity website: https://centreforcontemplativeresearch.nz/

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/centre-for-contemplative-research-aotearoa-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-13T10:46:37.222Z.