# Break Free Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC54785
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2017-06-27
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Papamoa
**NZBN:** 9429046209566
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Relief of poverty, hunger, sickness including provision of food, clothing & shelter to the poor; To educate and provide training and leadership for the public and students about issues of world poverty and steps that can be be taken to alleviate those issues;

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (70.8 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 77.5/100
- **Governance:** 55/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-11 (methodology 3.8)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$152k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$136k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$18k
- **Total assets:** not disclosed
- **Total liabilities:** not disclosed
- **Net assets:** not disclosed
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$76k
- **Government grants:** NZ$88k (57.8% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$63k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$0
- **Reporting tier:** Tier4

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$152k | NZ$136k | NZ$18k | not disclosed |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$114k | NZ$80k | NZ$34k | not disclosed |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$69k | NZ$130k | NZ$-60k | not disclosed |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$33k | NZ$28k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$9k | NZ$11k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$5k | NZ$5k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$95k | NZ$97k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$28k | NZ$12k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$8k | NZ$3k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 3 current
- **Chair recorded:** no

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC54785) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-11
- Rating: computed 2026-09-11
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/break-free-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/break-free-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/break-free-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC54785

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/break-free-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T09:51:52.647Z.