# Brass Whanganui Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC44452
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2010-06-17
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Whanganui
**NZBN:** 9429042992509
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Brass Whanganui Incorporated is dedicated to being a cultural arts treasure valued by the Whanganui community. This is achieved by training, development and performance of brass band instrumental music for the benefit of the community.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$131k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$163k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-32k
- **Total assets:** NZ$413k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$98
- **Net assets:** NZ$413k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$165k
- **Donations:** NZ$37k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$18k
- **Paid staff:** 1
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=c5e83d24-d8e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$131k | NZ$163k | NZ$-32k | NZ$413k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$103k | NZ$104k | NZ$-710 | NZ$445k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$123k | NZ$139k | NZ$-15k | NZ$443k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$109k | NZ$92k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$83k | NZ$97k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$75k | NZ$58k | not disclosed | not disclosed |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$195k | NZ$179k | not disclosed | NZ$516k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$133k | NZ$111k | not disclosed | NZ$513k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$102k | NZ$98k | not disclosed | NZ$510k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$102k | NZ$73k | not disclosed | NZ$529k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 3 current (19 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC44452) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Four Regions Trust** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-06-30
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$9k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/brass-whanganui-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/brass-whanganui-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/brass-whanganui-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC44452

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/brass-whanganui-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T09:18:10.459Z.