# Brain Injured Children Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC20632
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-01-24
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Tauranga
**NZBN:** 9429042697886
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To empower families/whanau by providing life changing resources that will enhance the quality of life for Brain Injured Children. Members are provided access to physical, and emotional support: financial contributions: Resources and equipment: Experience, Knowledge (from the families) and Neuro-developmental therapy advice

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$490k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$527k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-37k
- **Total assets:** NZ$500k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$225k
- **Net assets:** NZ$275k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$428k
- **Donations:** NZ$106k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$107k
- **Paid staff:** 1
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=010d0659-4c56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$490k | NZ$527k | NZ$-37k | NZ$275k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$332k | NZ$310k | NZ$22k | NZ$311k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$330k | NZ$291k | not disclosed | NZ$290k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$225k | NZ$222k | not disclosed | NZ$250k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$255k | NZ$159k | not disclosed | NZ$247k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$241k | NZ$170k | not disclosed | NZ$155k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$192k | NZ$184k | not disclosed | NZ$84k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$169k | NZ$179k | not disclosed | NZ$77k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$169k | NZ$295k | not disclosed | NZ$87k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$131k | NZ$179k | not disclosed | NZ$213k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 6 current (23 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20632) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$79k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$47k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **One Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$17k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/brain-injured-children-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/brain-injured-children-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/brain-injured-children-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC20632
- Charity website: http://www.braininjuredchildrentrust.co.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/brain-injured-children-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T16:42:08.947Z.