# Brackenridge Services Limited

**Charities Register number:** CC46412
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2011-03-31
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429037738525
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

At Brackenridge, people are our priority, supporting people with learning disabilities and autism to create and lead their lives, their way. Fantastic normal everyday lives where people are included as valued members in our community and live happy and fulfilling lives.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** C+ (67.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 78.6/100
- **Governance:** 75/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$41.33M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$40.33M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$996k
- **Total assets:** NZ$12.28M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$7.59M
- **Net assets:** NZ$4.69M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$7.73M
- **Government grants:** NZ$40.85M (98.8% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$38k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$33.62M
- **Paid staff:** 504
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=a551af30-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$41.33M | NZ$40.33M | NZ$996k | NZ$4.69M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$39.87M | NZ$38.80M | NZ$1.07M | NZ$3.69M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$35.05M | NZ$34.20M | not disclosed | NZ$2.62M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$32.16M | NZ$31.06M | not disclosed | NZ$1.77M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$32.16M | NZ$31.05M | not disclosed | NZ$1.77M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$24.78M | NZ$24.42M | not disclosed | NZ$1.28M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$22.89M | NZ$22.77M | not disclosed | NZ$922k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$20.18M | NZ$20.07M | not disclosed | NZ$794k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$18.00M | NZ$18.11M | not disclosed | NZ$676k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$17.46M | NZ$17.84M | not disclosed | NZ$786k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 8 current (21 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 14
- **Executive remuneration bands:** under NZ$100k
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unknown

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC46412) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$36.77M, year ended 2025-06-30
- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$14.39M, year ended 2015-06-30
- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$11.93M, year ended 2014-06-30
- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$11.43M, year ended 2013-06-30
- **Te Whatu Ora - Health New Zealand** (government) — NZ$10.23M, year ended 2012-06-30
- **Ministry of Social Development** (government) — NZ$4.09M, year ended 2025-06-30
- **Ministry of Social Development** (government) — NZ$1.60M, year ended 2015-06-30
- **Ministry of Social Development** (government) — NZ$1.33M, year ended 2014-06-30
- **Ministry of Social Development** (government) — NZ$1.27M, year ended 2013-06-30
- **Ministry of Social Development** (government) — NZ$1.14M, year ended 2012-06-30

## Service providers

- Grant Thornton on behalf of Office of the Auditor  — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-27

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/brackenridge-services-limited
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/brackenridge-services-limited/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/brackenridge-services-limited/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC46412

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/brackenridge-services-limited. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-27T22:27:57.017Z.