# Bone Marrow Cancer Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC21509
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-03-02
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Christchurch
**NZBN:** 9429042745624
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Our Purpose: Caring for those with cancer and life threatening illnesses by providing a home away from home and funding cancer research to find a cure. Our Vision - Caring and Giving Hope

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B (79.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$3.30M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.91M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$396k
- **Total assets:** NZ$29.02M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$1.11M
- **Net assets:** NZ$27.91M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$1.75M
- **Government grants:** NZ$2.36M (71.4% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$468k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.15M
- **Paid staff:** 23
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=36b47c7b-922d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$3.30M | NZ$2.91M | NZ$396k | NZ$27.91M |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$5.57M | NZ$2.14M | not disclosed | NZ$27.51M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$7.62M | NZ$1.36M | not disclosed | NZ$24.08M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$3.01M | NZ$1.28M | not disclosed | NZ$17.80M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$3.43M | NZ$1.04M | not disclosed | NZ$16.06M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$1.07M | NZ$935k | not disclosed | NZ$13.67M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$1.74M | NZ$1.05M | not disclosed | NZ$13.54M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$1.45M | NZ$921k | not disclosed | NZ$13.12M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$1.46M | NZ$893k | not disclosed | NZ$12.59M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$1.38M | NZ$840k | not disclosed | NZ$12.02M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (23 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Ashton Wheelans Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC21509) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$305k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$170k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Air Rescue Services Limited** (foundation) — NZ$76k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$75k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$58k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Mainland Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$55k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$52k, year ended 2022-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$40k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$24k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/bone-marrow-cancer-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/bone-marrow-cancer-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/bone-marrow-cancer-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC21509

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/bone-marrow-cancer-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T08:59:59.365Z.