# Blue Light Ventures Incorporated

**Charities Register number:** CC21948
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-03-18
**Sector:** Social Services
**ICNPO group:** Social Services
**Region:** Papakura
**NZBN:** 9429042598015
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Mission – Empowering young people nationwide to be better New Zealanders through quality experiences. Aims: • To deliver quality experiences for young people in order for them to develop their potential. • To Partner with communities. • To Deliver social services in the community on behalf of the government. • To enhance community safety. • To build positive relationships between the police, young people, their whanau and their community. • To Reduce youth crime through prevention. • To Support and grow NZ Blue Light Branches throughout the country.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A- (89.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$15.16M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$12.44M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$2.72M
- **Total assets:** NZ$11.77M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$3.05M
- **Net assets:** NZ$8.71M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$3.75M
- **Government grants:** NZ$10.11M (66.7% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$599k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$7.69M
- **Paid staff:** 120
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=045e4d75-c60e-f011-bb41-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$15.16M | NZ$12.44M | NZ$2.72M | NZ$8.71M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$12.08M | NZ$11.73M | NZ$349k | NZ$11.40M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$11.23M | NZ$8.78M | not disclosed | NZ$11.05M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$6.78M | NZ$6.96M | not disclosed | NZ$5.22M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$6.92M | NZ$5.22M | not disclosed | NZ$5.43M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$4.54M | NZ$4.42M | not disclosed | NZ$3.73M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$3.40M | NZ$3.49M | not disclosed | NZ$1.97M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$3.37M | NZ$2.65M | not disclosed | NZ$2.06M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$3.54M | NZ$2.94M | not disclosed | NZ$2.70M |
| 2016-03-31 | NZ$2.17M | NZ$1.79M | not disclosed | NZ$933k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 4 current (7 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 16
- **Executive remuneration bands:** NZ$200k–300k
- **Auditor:** Crombie and Associates
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC21948) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Trillian Trust** (foundation) — NZ$1.15M, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Trillian Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$267k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$165k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Youthtown Incorporated** (foundation) — NZ$163k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$160k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$159k, year ended 2024-03-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$60k, year ended 2023-12-31
- **We Care Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$40k, year ended 2022-03-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$35k, year ended 2024-12-31

## Service providers

- Crombie Associates — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/blue-light-ventures-incorporated
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/blue-light-ventures-incorporated/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/blue-light-ventures-incorporated/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC21948

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/blue-light-ventures-incorporated. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T08:51:45.595Z.