# Big Brothers Big Sisters of Taranaki

**Charities Register number:** CC23412
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-04-23
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** New Plymouth
**NZBN:** 9429043034741
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Vision: All Taiohi realise their full potential Mission: Enable life changing mentoring relationships to ignite the power and potential of Taiohi.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 2
  - reserves above the methodology threshold for its size and type
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$529k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$441k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$89k
- **Total assets:** NZ$933k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$60k
- **Net assets:** NZ$873k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$715k
- **Donations:** NZ$50k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$316k
- **Paid staff:** 5
- **Volunteers:** 2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=6b92d2b4-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$529k | NZ$441k | NZ$89k | NZ$873k |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$499k | NZ$430k | NZ$69k | NZ$784k |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$513k | NZ$433k | not disclosed | NZ$716k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$444k | NZ$401k | not disclosed | NZ$636k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$424k | NZ$322k | not disclosed | NZ$593k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$321k | NZ$362k | not disclosed | NZ$490k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$340k | NZ$281k | not disclosed | NZ$531k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$277k | NZ$278k | not disclosed | NZ$473k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$273k | NZ$293k | not disclosed | NZ$474k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$385k | NZ$243k | not disclosed | NZ$494k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 10 current (27 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23412) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Kiwi Gaming Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$52k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$34k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$20k, year ended 2024-12-31
- **Aotearoa Gaming Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$15k, year ended 2023-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$12k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$7k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$7k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **New Zealand Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$3k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Pelorus Trust** (foundation) — NZ$3k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/big-brothers-big-sisters-of-taranaki
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/big-brothers-big-sisters-of-taranaki/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/big-brothers-big-sisters-of-taranaki/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23412

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/big-brothers-big-sisters-of-taranaki. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T04:46:18.909Z.