# Auckland Museum Trust Board

**Charities Register number:** CC11225
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2007-09-26
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429047935983
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

War Memorial Museum

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The most recent annual return on the register is too old to score.
- **Status code:** `stale_data`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2023-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$52.14M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$54.42M
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$190.78M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$12.31M
- **Net assets:** NZ$178.48M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$16.42M
- **Donations:** NZ$7.54M
- **Paid staff:** 274
- **Volunteers:** 90
- **Reporting tier:** Tier1
- **Financial report audited:** yes
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=492047b8-dd17-ee11-bb22-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$52.14M | NZ$54.42M | not disclosed | NZ$178.48M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$38.69M | NZ$45.86M | not disclosed | NZ$180.76M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$40.79M | NZ$46.31M | not disclosed | NZ$187.93M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$46.32M | NZ$50.32M | not disclosed | NZ$193.46M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$44.67M | NZ$49.97M | not disclosed | NZ$197.46M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$46.13M | NZ$49.46M | not disclosed | NZ$202.75M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$46.24M | NZ$46.72M | not disclosed | NZ$206.08M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$42.24M | NZ$45.47M | not disclosed | NZ$206.56M |
| 2015-06-30 | NZ$44.62M | NZ$41.69M | not disclosed | NZ$479.45M |
| 2014-06-30 | NZ$40.27M | NZ$39.54M | not disclosed | NZ$476.52M |

## Group consolidated filing

This charity is part of **Auckland Museum Group**, which files a consolidated return. For the year ended 2025-06-30 the group reported revenue of NZ$63.18M and expenses of NZ$63.83M.

Where a member files an empty individual return, the group figures are where the activity sits.

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 10 current (45 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 6
- **Executive remuneration bands:** under NZ$100k, NZ$200k–300k, NZ$500k+
- **Auditor:** Deloitte
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC11225) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$1.54M, year ended 2023-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$434k, year ended 2021-03-31

## Service providers

- Deloitte — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-04-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/auckland-museum-trust-board
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/auckland-museum-trust-board/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/auckland-museum-trust-board/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC11225

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/auckland-museum-trust-board. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T04:24:51.585Z.