# Auckland City Mission

**Charities Register number:** CC22938
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-04-13
**Sector:** Advocacy
**ICNPO group:** Law, Advocacy and Politics
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042587972
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Helping people in desperate need by providing excellent integrated services and effective advocacy

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** A- (89.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$39.90M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$38.85M
- **Surplus / deficit:** not disclosed
- **Total assets:** NZ$150.93M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$18.65M
- **Net assets:** NZ$132.28M

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$39.90M | NZ$38.85M | not disclosed | NZ$132.28M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$39.29M | NZ$36.59M | not disclosed | NZ$130.14M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$36.00M | NZ$33.91M | not disclosed | NZ$126.50M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$42.08M | NZ$29.00M | not disclosed | NZ$122.75M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$61.14M | NZ$25.33M | not disclosed | NZ$105.92M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$44.15M | NZ$20.41M | not disclosed | NZ$68.11M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$24.98M | NZ$13.65M | not disclosed | NZ$42.33M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$13.22M | NZ$9.43M | not disclosed | NZ$28.38M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$8.70M | NZ$7.59M | not disclosed | NZ$23.63M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$8.65M | NZ$7.05M | not disclosed | NZ$21.80M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 10 current (34 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** Grant Thornton New Zealand Audit Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC22938) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$250k, year ended 2022-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$160k, year ended 2025-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$100k, year ended 2020-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$100k, year ended 2023-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$90k, year ended 2026-03-31
- **Simplicity Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$84k, year ended 2023-03-31
- **The Trusts Community Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$80k, year ended 2024-12-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$79k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$55k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Grassroots Trust Limited** (foundation) — NZ$50k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Service providers

- Grant Thornton — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-24
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/auckland-city-mission
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/auckland-city-mission/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/auckland-city-mission/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC22938

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/auckland-city-mission. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T00:18:39.618Z.