# Ashburton Performing Arts Theatre Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC23324
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-04-22
**Sector:** Education
**ICNPO group:** Education and Research
**Region:** Ashburton
**NZBN:** 9429042979098
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Promotion & provision of training and education in all aspects of the performing arts in Ashburton

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$934k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$989k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$-55k
- **Total assets:** NZ$5.53M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$496k
- **Net assets:** NZ$5.04M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$515k
- **Donations:** NZ$15k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$382k
- **Paid staff:** 9
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=bb5ae9d8-4a56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$934k | NZ$989k | NZ$-55k | NZ$5.04M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$1000k | NZ$1.07M | NZ$-73k | NZ$5.09M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$933k | NZ$1.05M | not disclosed | NZ$5.17M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$757k | NZ$854k | not disclosed | NZ$5.33M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$840k | NZ$949k | not disclosed | NZ$5.42M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$743k | NZ$977k | not disclosed | NZ$5.85M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$801k | NZ$944k | not disclosed | NZ$5.71M |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$743k | NZ$977k | not disclosed | NZ$5.85M |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$657k | NZ$866k | not disclosed | NZ$6.08M |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$609k | NZ$597k | not disclosed | not disclosed |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (22 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** PKF Goldsmith Fox Audit Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23324) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$30k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$25k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-23
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/ashburton-performing-arts-theatre-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/ashburton-performing-arts-theatre-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/ashburton-performing-arts-theatre-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23324

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/ashburton-performing-arts-theatre-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T19:31:38.312Z.