# Aotearoa Drug Information Outreach Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC27114
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-06-30
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429042586616
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

A Public Health Service to minimise the spread of blood-borne viruses amongst people who inject drugs and their communities and optimise the health of PWID and other skin piercers through drug-related harm reduction.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — The charity type has not been classified yet, so no scoring template applies and the grade is withheld.
- **Status code:** `unclassified`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.37M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.28M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$87k
- **Total assets:** NZ$1.65M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$276k
- **Net assets:** NZ$1.37M
- **Government grants:** NZ$2.23M (94.2% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$7k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.49M
- **Paid staff:** 32
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=830e0503-4b56-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$2.37M | NZ$2.28M | NZ$87k | NZ$1.37M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$2.66M | NZ$2.07M | NZ$586k | NZ$1.28M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$1.13M | NZ$1.16M | not disclosed | NZ$698k |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$1.08M | NZ$1.16M | not disclosed | NZ$726k |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$1.02M | NZ$980k | not disclosed | NZ$799k |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$978k | NZ$904k | not disclosed | NZ$762k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$980k | NZ$1.20M | not disclosed | NZ$689k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$913k | NZ$832k | not disclosed | NZ$911k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$885k | NZ$783k | not disclosed | NZ$830k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$907k | NZ$842k | not disclosed | NZ$727k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 5 current (8 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** Dellows Advisory
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27114) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-12
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-12
- This document generated: 2026-09-12

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/aotearoa-drug-information-outreach-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/aotearoa-drug-information-outreach-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/aotearoa-drug-information-outreach-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC27114
- Charity website: http://www.adio.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/aotearoa-drug-information-outreach-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-12T22:38:41.875Z.