# Aktive

**Charities Register number:** CC49335
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2013-05-14
**Sector:** Arts & Culture
**ICNPO group:** Culture and Recreation
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429043246274
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

To provide leadership to the Auckland region that encourages, enables and inspires Aucklanders to lead more active lives through sport and active recreation.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** B- (70.0 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 86.4/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 85/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-26 (methodology 3.11)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - trustees holding many concurrent board roles

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$18.48M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$18.27M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$202k
- **Total assets:** NZ$5.23M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$2.63M
- **Net assets:** NZ$2.60M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$4.60M
- **Government grants:** NZ$14.14M (76.5% of revenue)
- **Staff costs:** NZ$3.14M
- **Paid staff:** 26
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=a65fa2a5-4956-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$18.48M | NZ$18.27M | NZ$202k | NZ$2.60M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$19.47M | NZ$18.30M | NZ$1.17M | NZ$2.39M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$17.62M | NZ$17.53M | not disclosed | NZ$1.22M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$17.66M | NZ$17.68M | not disclosed | NZ$1.14M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$20.14M | NZ$19.94M | not disclosed | NZ$1.17M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$13.06M | NZ$12.90M | not disclosed | NZ$962k |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$12.41M | NZ$12.25M | not disclosed | NZ$799k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$11.18M | NZ$11.05M | not disclosed | NZ$636k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$11.27M | NZ$11.83M | not disclosed | NZ$507k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$10.36M | NZ$10.53M | not disclosed | NZ$1.06M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 9 current (26 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Paid executives disclosed:** 28
- **Executive remuneration bands:** under NZ$100k, NZ$500k+
- **Auditor:** UHY Haines Norton (Auckland) Limited
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC49335) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Sport New Zealand** (government) — NZ$18.26M, year ended 2024-06-30
- **Sport New Zealand** (government) — NZ$14.14M, year ended 2025-06-30
- **Sport New Zealand** (government) — NZ$7.63M, year ended 2014-06-30
- **Sport New Zealand** (government) — NZ$7.28M, year ended 2015-06-30
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$1.97M, year ended 2025-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$1.02M, year ended 2026-03-31
- **Four Winds Foundation Limited** (foundation) — NZ$237k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$133k, year ended 2027-03-31
- **Foundation North** (foundation) — NZ$48k, year ended 2023-03-31

## Service providers

- UHY Haines Norton (Auckland) Limited  — auditor

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-28

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/aktive
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/aktive/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/aktive/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC49335

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/aktive. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-28T06:36:51.306Z.