# Able Charitable Trust

**Charities Register number:** CC52530
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2015-08-10
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Dunedin
**NZBN:** 9429043281176
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Supporting people with mental illness or addiction and their families, in all matters concerning their well-being. We build resilience by providing tools, tactics and strategies needed for a better life experience at home, at work and in the community. We do this by maintaining best practice to provide quality services throughout our divisions.

## CharityData rating

- **Grade:** D (49.5 / 100)
- **Financial health:** 100/100
- **Governance:** 65/100
- **Transparency:** 65/100
- **Computed:** 2026-09-10 (methodology 3.6)
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** 1
  - executive remuneration not disclosed

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-06-30)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$2.56M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$2.27M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$292k
- **Total assets:** NZ$2.55M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$299k
- **Net assets:** NZ$2.25M
- **Government grants:** NZ$2.19M (85.3% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$3k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.74M
- **Paid staff:** 31
- **Volunteers:** 0
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=5e40bf63-4956-f011-bb44-0022480ffcd1&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-30 | NZ$2.56M | NZ$2.27M | NZ$292k | NZ$2.25M |
| 2024-06-30 | NZ$2.22M | NZ$1.94M | NZ$272k | NZ$1.84M |
| 2023-06-30 | NZ$1.96M | NZ$1.63M | not disclosed | NZ$1.68M |
| 2022-06-30 | NZ$1.71M | NZ$1.63M | not disclosed | NZ$1.23M |
| 2021-06-30 | NZ$1.53M | NZ$1.39M | not disclosed | NZ$1.14M |
| 2020-06-30 | NZ$1.44M | NZ$1.49M | not disclosed | NZ$1.01M |
| 2019-06-30 | NZ$1.46M | NZ$1.62M | not disclosed | NZ$853k |
| 2018-06-30 | NZ$1.33M | NZ$1.55M | not disclosed | NZ$719k |
| 2017-06-30 | NZ$1.19M | NZ$1.34M | not disclosed | NZ$932k |
| 2016-06-30 | NZ$741k | NZ$875k | not disclosed | NZ$1.03M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 18 current (40 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC52530) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-01
- Financials: last updated 2026-05-29
- Rating: computed 2026-09-10
- This document generated: 2026-09-11

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/able-charitable-trust
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/able-charitable-trust/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/able-charitable-trust/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC52530
- Charity website: www.able.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/able-charitable-trust. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-11T01:22:06.166Z.