# Abbeyfield Properties Limited

**Charities Register number:** CC24864
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-05-25
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Nelson
**NZBN:** 9429036123186
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

"To enhance the quality of life for older people". This broad based vision encourages us to look at how we can best provide a housing choice for older people that meets their independence and life style expectations and at the same time will ensure the sustainability, growth and development of Abbeyfield-style housing.

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — This charity is not currently rated.
- **Status code:** `group_member`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2026-03-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$5.58M
- **Total expenses:** NZ$3.58M
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$2.00M
- **Total assets:** NZ$32.06M
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$5.52M
- **Net assets:** NZ$26.55M
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$373k
- **Government grants:** NZ$1.69M (30.3% of revenue)
- **Donations:** NZ$501k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$1.23M
- **Reporting tier:** Tier2
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=192aece5-912d-f111-bb51-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-31 | NZ$5.58M | NZ$3.58M | NZ$2.00M | NZ$26.55M |
| 2025-03-31 | NZ$5.67M | NZ$3.14M | not disclosed | NZ$25.43M |
| 2024-03-31 | NZ$2.92M | NZ$2.85M | not disclosed | NZ$22.89M |
| 2023-03-31 | NZ$2.79M | NZ$2.62M | not disclosed | NZ$22.79M |
| 2022-03-31 | NZ$2.59M | NZ$2.44M | not disclosed | NZ$19.02M |
| 2021-03-31 | NZ$3.87M | NZ$2.17M | not disclosed | NZ$14.11M |
| 2020-03-31 | NZ$2.62M | NZ$2.14M | not disclosed | NZ$12.41M |
| 2019-03-31 | NZ$4.02M | NZ$1.82M | not disclosed | NZ$11.93M |
| 2018-03-31 | NZ$3.00M | NZ$2.61M | not disclosed | NZ$9.74M |
| 2017-03-31 | NZ$5.05M | NZ$1.76M | not disclosed | NZ$9.35M |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 7 current (16 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** yes
- **Auditor:** INDEPENDENT AUDITORS LTD
- **Most recent audit opinion:** adverse

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC24864) and on the charity's profile page.

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-24
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-13
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/abbeyfield-properties-limited
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/abbeyfield-properties-limited/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/abbeyfield-properties-limited/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC24864

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/abbeyfield-properties-limited. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T06:18:08.907Z.