# A Girl Called Hope

**Charities Register number:** CC23960
**Status:** Registered
**Registered since:** 2008-05-05
**Sector:** Health
**ICNPO group:** Health
**Region:** Auckland
**NZBN:** 9429043135264
**IRD donee status:** yes — donations may qualify for a tax credit

## Purpose

Empowering and restoring hope to all who are seeking help with their mental health and wellbeing

## CharityData rating

- **Not rated** — Reports under the Tier 3/4 regime with limited disclosure and no detected red flags.
- **Status code:** `limited_disclosure`
- **Flags raised by the methodology:** none

Ratings are an analytical view computed from this charity's own filings to the Charities Register, using a published methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology. They are not advice and not a statement about any individual.

## Latest annual return (year ended 2025-12-31)

- **Total revenue:** NZ$839k
- **Total expenses:** NZ$340k
- **Surplus / deficit:** NZ$499k
- **Total assets:** NZ$772k
- **Total liabilities:** NZ$27k
- **Net assets:** NZ$745k
- **Cash reserves:** NZ$77k
- **Donations:** NZ$210k
- **Staff costs:** NZ$212k
- **Paid staff:** 8
- **Reporting tier:** Tier3
- **Source filing (PDF):** https://register.charities.govt.nz/Document/DownloadPdf?pdfType=AnnualReturnSummary&relatedId=22fb6dee-d7e6-f011-bb4e-000d3acc4199&isPublic=true

All figures are as filed by the charity with Charities Services, in New Zealand dollars.

## Filing history

| Year ended | Revenue | Expenses | Surplus/deficit | Net assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-12-31 | NZ$839k | NZ$340k | NZ$499k | NZ$745k |
| 2024-12-31 | NZ$304k | NZ$423k | NZ$-118k | NZ$246k |
| 2023-12-31 | NZ$337k | NZ$386k | NZ$-48k | NZ$364k |
| 2022-12-31 | NZ$447k | NZ$397k | not disclosed | NZ$412k |
| 2021-12-31 | NZ$583k | NZ$583k | not disclosed | NZ$362k |
| 2020-12-31 | NZ$818k | NZ$741k | not disclosed | NZ$362k |
| 2019-12-31 | NZ$755k | NZ$723k | not disclosed | NZ$285k |
| 2018-12-31 | NZ$688k | NZ$722k | not disclosed | NZ$253k |
| 2017-12-31 | NZ$692k | NZ$703k | not disclosed | NZ$286k |
| 2016-12-31 | NZ$700k | NZ$660k | not disclosed | NZ$297k |

## Governance

- **Officers on the register:** 3 current (12 including former)
- **Chair recorded:** no
- **Auditor:** William Buck Audit (NZ) Ltd
- **Most recent audit opinion:** unqualified

Individual officers and trustees are not listed here. Their names are on the public Charities Register (https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23960) and on the charity's profile page.

## Disclosed funders

- **Pub Charity Limited** (foundation) — NZ$19k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$13k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **The Lion Foundation** (foundation) — NZ$10k, year ended 2024-12-31
- **Dragon Community Trust** (foundation) — NZ$8k, year ended 2021-12-31
- **Constellation Communities Trust** (foundation) — NZ$5k, year ended 2021-12-31

## Data freshness

- Register details: as of 2026-09-25
- Financials: last updated 2026-09-25
- Rating: computed 2026-09-26
- This document generated: 2026-09-29

Figures are as filed. A charity that has filed since the dates above may have newer numbers on the Charities Register.

## More data

- Charity profile: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/a-girl-called-hope
- Structured facts (JSON): https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/a-girl-called-hope/facts.json
- Short summary: https://charitydata.co.nz/api/v1/charities/a-girl-called-hope/summary.md
- Rating methodology: https://charitydata.co.nz/charity-insights/methodology
- Official register entry: https://register.charities.govt.nz/CharitiesRegister/ViewCharity?accountId=CC23960
- Charity website: http://www.hopefull.org.nz

---

Published by [CharityData NZ](https://charitydata.co.nz). Canonical: https://charitydata.co.nz/charities/a-girl-called-hope. Primary source: Charities Services (Ngā Rātonga Kaupapa Atawhai), Department of Internal Affairs. Analytical scores are CharityData's own, computed under a published methodology, and are not advice. Generated 2026-09-29T03:16:56.606Z.